Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis

Plenary Speakers

John M. Deur, Director, Combustion Research, Cummins, Inc. , USA.

Dr. Deur has over 30 years of combustion engineering experience in both R&D and program environments for a wide range of applications including solid rockets, gas turbines, pulse detonation engines, ramjets, internal combustion engines, and industrial processes. This includes over 25 years of experience in computational fluid dynamics, including both code development and application. In these fields, he has authored, co-authored, and/or presented over fifty technical papers. Dr. Deur has also developed and taught continuing education courses in solid rocket combustion instability and IC engine combustion analysis, as well as created and conducted training courses for commercial CFD and grid generation software. For the past nine years, he has been the Director of Combustion Research for Cummins, Inc.

Steve Legensky, General Manager, Intelligent Light, USA.

Steve M. Legensky is the founder and general manager of Intelligent Light, a company that has delivered products and services based on visualization technology (such as FieldView) since 1984. He attended Stevens Institute of Technology in Hoboken, New Jersey and received a BE degree in electrical engineering in 1977 and a MS degree in mathematics in 1979. Steve’s passion is applying visualization and data management to difficult engineering problems. Steve is an Associate Fellow of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) and has published and presented for AIAA, IEEE, ASME, ACM/SIGGRAPH, Japan's NAGARE and IDC.

Scott A. Morton, Program Manager, CREATE-AV program, Department of Defense.

Dr. Scott A. Morton manages the Air Vehicles component of the U.S. DoD HPCMP Computational Research Engineering Acquisition Tools and Environments (CREATE) Program. The project, CREATE-AV, produces a suite of three major products, Genesis Design, Helios, and Kestrel, delivering capabilities to the U.S. Defense Aerospace Industry in response to prioritized needs of the U.S. Armed Services.Prior to his current position, Scott was the Principal Software Developer for the Kestrel Fixed Wing Aircraft Product of the CREATE-AV suite of software. He received his BS from Parks College of St. Louis University in 1985, and his MS and PhD from the Air Force Institute of Technology in 1989 and 1996, respectively. During his 20 year Air Force military career he served at the National Air Intelligence Center, Air Force Flight Test Center, Air Force Research Lab, Air Vehicles Directorate, and Air force Academy. Scott served as a Professor of Aeronautics at the Air Force Academy from 1998 to 2006, at which time he retired from the Air Force at the rank of Lt. Colonel. Dr. Morton has specialized in the areas of high angle of attack aerodynamics, aeroelasticity, and computational stability and control in his 30+ year career.

Back to top
Tony W. H. Sheu, Professor, National Taiwan University, Taipei, Taiwan, China.

Dr. Tony Wen-Hann Sheu graduated from National Taiwan university (B.S. 1981), Northwestern university (MS,1982) and then Purdue university (Ph.D,1987) supervised by Prof. Akin Ecer. In the past 30 years teaching in National Taiwan university, his works on CFD cover finite element, finite volume, finite difference and particle methods. The areas of interest include modelling and simulation for fluid flow, acoustics, heat transfer and electromagnetics. Besides the scientific computing research works for partial differential equations, the recent works are devoted to HIFU surgical planning for ablating liver tumor and modelling and simulation of acupuncture practice. He has published 212 international journal papers. He has won the highest research awards in Taiwan which are the distinguished research award (1997-2006) and became the research fellow of National Science Council in 2012. Through the tight research collaboration with LJLL, he won the Taiwan-France for Science and Technology award in 2011.

Sauro Succi, Director, IAC-CNR, Rome, Italy and Research Associate, IACS, Harvard University, Cambridge USA.

Dr. Sauro Succi holds a degree in Nuclear Engineering from the University of Bologna (1979) and a PhD in Plasma Physics from the EPFL, Lausanne, Switzerland (1987). Since 1995 he serves as a Director of Research at the Istituto Applicazioni Calcolo of the Italian National Research Council in Rome and he is also a Research Associate of the Physics Department of Harvard University and a regular Visiting Professor at the Institute of Applied Computational Science at the School of Engineering and Applied Sciences of Harvard University. He has published extensively on a broad range of topics in computational statistical physics, including thermonuclear plasmas, fluid turbulence and combustion,micro and nano-biofluidics, as well as quantum-relativistic flows. He is the author of the highly cited monograph ”The lattice Boltzmann equation for fluid dynamics and beyond”.Dr Succi is an elected Fellow of the American Physical Society (1998), a member of the European Physical Society and an elected member of the Academia Europaea (2015).

Banquet Keynote Speaker

Marius Stan, Interim Director of the Systems Science Center, Argonne National Laboratory, USA.

Dr. Marius Stan is the Interim Director of the Systems Science Center at Argonne National Laboratory. He is also Adjunct Professor and Senior Fellow at the University of Chicago’s Computation Institute and at the Northwestern-Argonne Institute for Science and Engineering. His center uses artificial intelligence, machine learning, and multi-scale computer simulations to understand and predict properties of complex natural and social systems. Marius has extensively published in the scientific literature and is writing a book on “Models and Simulations” for Taylor & Francis. He is an avid soccer player and a published author of short-stories and poetry (in Romanian). You may also recognize him as Bogdan, the car wash owner, in the acclaimed TV series “Breaking Bad.”

Sponsored by

Cummins Inc.           Rolls-Royce Corp           OAA           Microsoft           INDI           AMD

Complete List of Sponsors